David Bardwell

David Bardwell 2I’m a photography enthusiast, hailing from Tennessee. I moved to Fredericton in the summer of 2006 with my family. My grandfather left the reservation at the advice of his godmother. After being told he was too young to join the Canadian Forces, he joined the US Army, which led to his service in both the Korean War and the Vietnam War. He retired in Clarksville, TN, a city which is located directly next to Fort Campbell, Kentucky.

As I didn’t grow up around much aboriginal culture, I find myself enamored with the traditions of my people. I’m hoping to use my education to help dispel some of the poor social perceptions related with being of First Nations descent in Canada. By telling stories in journalism, I am hopeful those perceptions can change.

Outside of journalism, I enjoy playing video games and spending time my with family and friends.

